Positive Post Wednesday

October 8, 2008 at 5:01 pm 4 comments

None of you know my grandfather, I don’t even know him very well. I never got to see him very much. Most of my life was spent living in a different state than him, and the years we lived in the same state were my younger years. When we all lived in New York, my family would go camping on the St. Lawrence River in the summer, and those were the only times we really got to see grandpa. Since we moved from there, I’ve seen him at 2 family reunions and visited him in Florida one summer. He is a sweet man. He is a generous man. He is a loving man. When I was a young child, I was always more interested in playing than chatting with the grown ups, but even then he would show us where the toys were, the video games… make sure we were fed and having fun. Every year on our birthdays he would mail his grandchildren a card with a $20 check in it. At one family reunion he took on the task of handing out squirt guns to his grandchildren and great grandchildren, much to their parents dismay. At the other one I heard a story about how he chastised my cousin for a choice she had made, his tears evidence of his love for her and his disappointment in where she went wrong. My grandpa is a very strong man and also very stubborn. A few weeks ago he had some pain in his chest and left arm as he was putting his bike away. He wrote it off as a result of lifting the bike. A few days ago, he consented to go to the hospital. He was diagnosed as having congestive heart failure. The doctors say he has 2-3 days to live at most in the hospital he’s in or he can be transferred to a facility where he might have a couple weeks. I wish I had spent more time with him and got to know him better. The good news is, he is a follower of Christ. Whether he dies tonight or in 20 years I will get to know him better, because we have the same father, and for that, I am truly thankful.

—-edit—-

Know You More

When having fun was all that mattered
And I had family all around
I forfeited my chance to know you more

When selfishness consumed me
And you “wouldn’t understand”
I forfeited my chance to know you more

And now the time has come
For the Lord to call you home
And I don’t know that I’m ready to let go

The cold keeps getting colder
And the silence gets more silent
My heart, it’s slowly breaking
And my tears, they get more violent

Now your life is all that matters
And it quickly slips away
And I forfeited my chance to know you more

The cold keeps getting colder
And the silence gets more silent
My heart, it’s slowly breaking
And my tears, they get more violent

And when this is all over
And we meet beyond heavens doors
Maybe then I’ll take forever to know you more

Entry filed under: life, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

More Permanent I wasn’t going to, but I am

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lofter  |  October 8, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    My prayers are definitely going up for your Grandpa, and for you and your family as well. I think we all look back and wish we’d spent more time with loved ones… at least I know I do. Every day is a blessing. You can rest easy, though, my dear Sis… he’s just going home. Someday we’ll all be together again. And I, for one, intend to get your dear Grandpa to tell me all about his wonderful granddaughter!
    *Mega-hugs*

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Thank you! *big hugs*

    Reply
  • 3. 6justmyopinion  |  October 13, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    May the Lord comfort you all right now. thank you for being so open and real. It was very sweet and also great that you do have the memories that you have. May the Lord hear and grant you more times with him before he goes home.

    Love, Barb

    Reply
  • 4. annie  |  October 15, 2008 at 12:35 am

    What hope we have in Christ! It’s so hard to lose our family members, but it’s so AWESOME that you have the assurance of seeing him again in eternity. I am not as fortunate; my one remaining grandparent is NOT a believer. That pain is so hard to swallow… He just refuses to open his eyes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


