Abrasive

September 14, 2008 at 8:02 pm 2 comments

The words came to me: “I fear my personality may be too abrasive for any one man to handle.” And then I realized I wasn’t exactly sure wheat abrasive meant. So, naturally, before changing my Facebook status, I meandered over to dictionary.com, where they kindly told me its meaning. It told me all sorts of applications ranging from “any material or substance used for grinding, polishing, etc., as emery, pumice, or sandpaper” to “tending to annoy or cause ill will; overly aggressive” to “Harsh and rough in manner.” I tended to apply the latter two to my personality and so, I changed my status. Then, I thought more about the first definition. Could my personality possibly be abrasive in that sense… in the way that my personality would polish or edify others? Perhaps that could be the reason my personality is so obtrusive, aggressive and rough. I flatter myself that I played some part in Zach becoming the more outgoing man that he is today, though in all likelihood it was the transition to college that encouraged his growth in that area. Logic! Stop crushing my dreams, man! But what if I’m right. What if God is using me to smooth out the rough edges that some possess by the very rough edges that I possess? What if he’s using me to polish these gems that they might be another’s treasure? I would he let me polish them for my own happiness, though I suppose I should rejoice at everything that’s done for God’s glory. *sigh* The thoughts of a narcissist… I shall go on with the personality God hath given me and seek to edify others as well as myself.

Entry filed under: God, life. Tags: , , , , , .

With Great Waiting Comes Bad Writing It’s A Good Answer

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lofter  |  September 17, 2008 at 8:20 am

    As a friend of mine recently pointed out to me – thick-headed as I am at times – “Seek first the Kingdom of God…” It doesn’t matter what else happens in this world, whether it’s because of something we’ve been a part of, or something we had nothing to do with, if we will just do that one thing… “Seek first the Kingdom of God…” All things work for the good – provided we let them!

    And, for the record, I don’t find you abrasive at all. I think you’re a sweetheart! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  September 17, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks 🙂 I actually just read a Proverb last night about God working all things together for the good.

    And, for the record, if you were 19-25, not married, and yet maintained all your wisdom, wit and charisma I daresay you would find me unbearably abrasive! But thanks anyway ^_^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


