Needless Frustration

September 2, 2008 at 2:18 pm Leave a comment

I thought it was over… again.

The source of my frustration, once again, is the Rodney B. Wilson Scholarship. Honestly, at this point, I wish someone else would have won it.

Here’s the story from beginning until now:

I won the scholarship. The scholarship was for $1000 a year, and was renewable for up to 4 years. I attended college at LCC in Fall 2006 and was sent a check for $1000. I also was getting a softball scholarship from LCC, which paid for pretty much all of my tuition with the exception of a few course fees. Because softball paid for tuition, I got a large majority of the Wilson scholarship money sent back to me from LCC to pay for other college expenses. The next semester, I got another check for $1000 from the Wilson scholarship. I took it into their office because we were only supposed to receive a total of $1000 a year rather than $1000 per semester. They mailed the check back to me with a note that said they were going to let students keep the checks for this semester and were later going to decide what to do about the next school year. So, I gave the check to LCC. LCC insisted that the Wilson scholarship was tuition based, and so for the Spring 2007 semester, they applied it to my tuition before applying my softball scholarship. Thus, I did not receive any money back from it as I had the previous semester. LCC took the money, and gave me less money for my softball scholarship. During the summer before Fall 2007, I received a letter saying that because of the double payment the year before, we were not going to receive the scholarship money for the 2007-2008 school year. I also found out that my softball scholarship was not being renewed as there were many new recruits who would be needing the money more than me. I didn’t have any money saved up, so without my two main sources of financial aid for college, I wasn’t going to be able to pay for classes, so I spent the Fall semester in Wisconsin helping my sister with child care and housework. At the end of the year, I moved back to Michigan to live with my mom and dad. Then, I got an e-mail from my softball coach saying that a couple girls left and he would be able to offer me a scholarship for the Spring 2008 semester. So, I took it. I played softball and took classes for the semester. Now, here I am at the beginning of the Fall 2008 semester. I had attempted to go to Cedarville University. I was registered for classes and had placed the down payment on my room, however, I was incapable of getting a student loan to fully finance my education there. At this point, I still didn’t have money saved up for school elsewhere, so I was once again not going to be attending school for the Fall. Then, I received a check from the Wilson foundation. I had assumed that I would not be getting the scholarship anymore because I had missed a semester of school. I took the check into the office again and explained the situation. I just got a call back from them, and it appears that there’s a bit of a predicament. Technically, I shouldn’t have received the second check the first year, because I didn’t go in the Fall last year. I didn’t know how my situation would change. So, right now, it looks as if I may have to pay back the $1000 that “I” received in Spring 2007, despite the fact that LCC received all of it, and I would have been just as well off had they not sent it, or even better off if they had waited until Fall 2007, when I could have used it to take classes. So, here I am, trying to save up money so that I can either take classes next semester or save money for a longer period of time and possibly pay for New Tribes outright or any other number of things, and instead of saving it, I may just be paying it back to the Wilson foundation, when I didn’t see any of that second check in the first place.

*sigh* so that is what’s frustrating me today.

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , .

Healing woo-hooo!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


