I’m Not Your Mom

August 21, 2008 at 6:57 pm 4 comments

Growing up, my sister Shannon and I used to look alike – kinda. There were a couple times we were asked if we were twins. However, it has been a long time since we looked similar. The days when we were both the same height and had similar hair and eyes is pretty much over. Shannon is now a couple inches taller than me, has curly, shorter, blondish hair and usually green eyes; I have long, straight, brown hair with eyes that I like to think are hazel. Shannon also excels far past me in the milk-producing area, and I far exceed her in the caboose. Yet, despite these differences, her son Connor seems to confuse me for her at times, such as tonight. Whenever I set him down he would start to fuss… even if I tried to pawn him off on another person who was standing up, he would start fussing. He and I don’t really have a close relationship… I used to babysit him quite a bit last year, but after being in Wisconsin, he didn’t even remember who I was. I love the kid, but I’m not his mom. I didn’t sign up for screaming children yet – remember the part where I never got married or had sex? Yeah, I distinctly remember not doing that. I don’t really want my nephew thinking that I’m his mom… it makes my life much busier or much noisier.

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , , .

Rockin with the B-Rood and my Besty More Than Silver

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lofter  |  August 21, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    LOL! Something to keep in mind, for future reference! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. annie  |  August 22, 2008 at 12:13 am

    My niece sometimes will run up and hug my legs with all her might, then realize that I am NOT Mommy, and quickly disappear! She’s really shy. So, when this happens, it doesn’t bother me in the least bit; I am just happy to get an unforced hug from that sweet little thing! Ha ha!

    Enjoy it while it lasts. Take it as a compliment. And as Lofter implied, let it satisfy any inkling of an notion to have children for a long time! Just be the “cool aunt!”

    Reply
  • 3. anon4him  |  August 22, 2008 at 12:52 am

    I like the “cool aunt” status… I really do! But I’ve got 5 nephews and 4 nieces, so I can spread the love around already. I just didn’t like not being able to set my nephew down without him screaming… particularly when there were things I would have liked to do 😛

    On a related note, I can’t wait to see my nephews and niece in Wisconsin this weekend! They occupy a lot of my time, but they give me “me” time as well!

    Reply
  • 4. annie  |  August 22, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I love Wisconsin. Have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


