My not-so-fast Metabolism

August 3, 2008 at 12:21 am 4 comments

How many people do you know who can gain over 5 lbs in just 2 1/2 days? Well, you know at least one 🙂 I left for Traverse City late on Thursday afternoon with my sister-in-law. Prior to my trip, I weighed myself – 151.0 lbs… not too shabby considering it’s summer and thus I’ve had less exercise than what I would get from softball practices. Upon arriving home at around 10ish Saturday night, I weighed myself again – 156.5 lbs. GGGG! I went from doing pretty good to doing pretty terrible in a matter of less than 60 hous! Was it the lack of exercise? Maybe. was it the ice cream, pizza, spicy chicken sandwiches, cookies, m&ms and ritz chips? More than likely. But I think that in addition to all that, it was also my metabolic rate. My sister-in-law who was with me ate just about the same as I ate, and she gained (I think) less than half of what I gained. I guess hers sped up after she had her son, so maybe I need to get married and have a kid so I can be thin! JK JK!!! 🙂 that’s way too much work to attempt to speed up my metabolism! Kids are trouble, I’ll tell ya! I guess I better get lifting weights and running… work it off the sensible way 😉

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , .

Yay! Music! Everything

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annie  |  August 3, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Some women are really blessed to have a faster metabolism AFTER having babies. I do not fall into that category! I’m with you, wanting to lose 5 to 10 at the moment… It’s just so hard to find time to exercise.

    Reply
  • 2. Jill  |  August 4, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    You probably didn’t gain as much as you think, since eating a lot in a short period time usually causes excess water retention and additional weight from the, um… residue in transit.

    Reply
  • 3. Lofter  |  August 4, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Let not your heart be troubled, my dear Sis… I can watch a Pizza Hut commercial on television and gain two pounds! And when I exercise, I gain four more! (They tell me that muscle is heavier than flab, thinking that will make me feel better… HA!)
    Look at this way… if we’re suddenly thrown into a food shortage, people who have a few extra pounds will actually get to live a few extra days! And those ‘skinny’ people among us… well, let’s just say that cannibals will tell ya they go great with the right gravy! LOL!
    Exercise some for me, too, will ya? I’ve never got to meet an actual cannibal. 😀

    Reply
  • 4. anon4him  |  August 4, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    lol, Lofter, I love ya, bro!

    I’ll try to get some extra exercise in for you! 🙂 and for the record, I’m glad you’ve never met a cannibal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


