There’s a Fork

July 23, 2008 at 12:13 am 3 comments

Perhaps my proverbial fork is not quite so clear as the one my niece, Bethany, is gladly showing, but I believe it is there none the less. At this point in my life, I can see it proceeding into the fall in two ways: 1) Me receiving the financial aid necessary for me to go to Cedarville, where I will play softball for another year, and sadly miss another Harvest Party or 2) Me failing to receive the funds necessary for me to go to CU in the fall, and instead, babysitting my niece, Emily, and saving my money so I can hopefully either go to Cedarville for the Spring semester or even begin anew next year (but luckily be able to go to the Harvest Party). Personally, both of these have their ups and downs, and I feel like listing them.

CU positives:

  1. Play softball
  2. Be surrounded by godly young men and women
  3. Get my Education degree
  4. Have the opportunity to become part of a larger community and serve others outside of my current community
  5. Make new friends
  6. Become better friends with others
  7. Possibly meet my husband

CU negatives:

  1. Incur a lot of debt
  2. Miss the Harvest Party
  3. Rarely see my friends from Michigan
  4. Rarely see my family
  5. Have the stress that naturally comes with going to school

Not going to CU positives:

  1. Earn and Save money
  2. Spend more time with certain family members
  3. Help out a sister in need of child care
  4. Have lots of free time
  5. Not incur large amounts of debt
  6. Be flexible
  7. Leaves the possibility of going to New Tribes open

Not going to CU negatives:

  1. Less likely that I’ll be able to play college softball again
  2. Miss out on some great experiences
  3. Feeling awkward because I told a bunch of people I am going to Cedarville
  4. Not hanging out with some new friends I’ve made via facebook who will be going to CU
  5. It may be more difficult to get scholarships the longer I wait
  6. I will let Coach Rowe and the team down, because they were counting on me playing
  7. I won’t get to meet all of those godly young men and women

So, as you can see… there is a lot to be said for both. I think of all those, the main reason I would want to go would be to not let down my coach and teammates, and the reason I would want to not go would be to stay out of debt. I went to this seminar hosted by Send International maybe 2 years ago, and they said that if you want to be a missionary, one of the best things you can do is not have debt. If I go to CU, I will have debt. The only way I won’t have debt is if God provides finances other than loans for me (which is very possible as nothing is impossible with God). If God’s will is for me to be a missionary, it stands to reason that he would not have me study Early Childhood Education at Cedarville. However, I don’t know that God is calling me to be a missionary. Wow, I just got so off topic. The point is, without debt, if God called me, it would be easier to go.

Anyways, I will be trying to gain the financial aid necessary to go to Cedarville, and if I do not receive it, then I think it’s a pretty clear sign that CU is not where God has put me for this fall. If I do receive it, it’s all God 🙂 I love my God and how great he is!

Your prayers are much appreciated!

Entry filed under: God, life, prayer, school, softball. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Happy Birthday, Mom! See ya!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jonathan  |  July 23, 2008 at 12:47 am

    There is tremendous happiness in making others happy, despite our own situations.
    Shared grief is half the sorrow, but happiness when shared, is doubled.
    If you want to feel rich, just count all the things you have that money can’t buy.
    ‘Today is a gift, that is why it is called The Present.’

    Reply
  • 2. BDO  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Very well thought out. I agree of the advice that was said to have no debt. Here is another interesting site to help raise some money to become a missionary: Fundable.com. Since your future career as a missionary will require gaining sponsors, might as well, strive to solicit some now for your education. Fundable will allow people to sponsor you and unless the money gets raised, no one pays. Security for the sponsors, and security for you. And that would be another sign if Cedarville is the place for you, if God provides the money.

    http://www.beatingdebt.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. anon4him  |  July 23, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    That’s an interesting thought, I’ll check it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


