Rest Is My Friend

June 29, 2008 at 1:58 pm 2 comments

So for the last couple of days, I’ve pretty much done nothing except for be athletic. On Friday I did a bunch of swimming, played about a gazillion games of volleyball, a quick game of Ultimate Frisbee, and a couple variations of lightning. Yesterday, I did some softball hit around with some of the most amazing people I’ve been blessed to meet. During softball, I also did some fastpitch pitching which I haven’t done in over 2 years. Today, I am sore. I’m remembering that I have muscles that I haven’t used recently, simply because they hurt. But praise God, it’s a good hurt! And praise God, it’s Sunday! Sunday is my favorite day today because God told us to remember the Sabbath and keep it holy. He told us to work six days and rest on the seventh, and that certainly is what I plan on doing today. πŸ™‚ I’m hoping once school starts I’ll remember how good it is to rest and not sin against God by waiting until Sunday night to finish my homework. Somehow procrastination and obeying God don’t mesh well, so one of them will have to go. And I’ll give you a hint: God’s not going anywhere. I want y’all to hold me to that too. Please keep me accountable in that area. Anyway…. yay rest! πŸ™‚

On another topic, I did some reading in 1Kings today, specifically some of the stuff involving Elijah. You know, I thought I was madly in love with Paul, but Elijah is so darn attractive as well. This was a man of God. Elijah was a man of faith. There was definitely open communication between Elijah and God. When he went to the widow to be fed, he didn’t ask God why He sent him to a woman who barely had enough food for her and her child. Elijah said to woman, “… this is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: ‘The jar of flour will not be used up and the jug of oil will not run dry until the day the Lord gives rain on the land.'” When Elijah challenged the prophets of Baal on Mount Carmel, he doused the offering in water. As I hope all of you know, water does not typically catch on fire well. Elijah knew that with God there is no impossible. The very God who created that water could consume it with fire just as easily. Elijah prayed and the fire of the Lord fell. Not only did the sacrifice get burned up, but the wood, the stones, the soil and even the water were all consumed by the fire! Now THAT is an impressive God! It’s crazy that Israel could deny him so many times… but don’t we in the same way put a limit on our God. Where is our faith to show this dieing world the One who came to save it? Why do we doubt that a God who raised the dead will heal us? Why do we doubt that a God who turned a poor Shepherd boy into a mighty king and warrior will provide us with financing? Why do we doubt that a God who used a prostitute to protect his servants will use us in an important way? We shouldn’t! So stop doubting and start living by faith! (This is much a command to me as it is to you).

I love you all, and hope you have a wonderful Sunday and have a blessed week and life. *hugs love and prayer*

Entry filed under: God, life, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Good or Bad? My Man

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessi Collins  |  June 29, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Yeah, I’ve died twice in 20 minutes. But that’s because Brad was being nice to me.

    ok actually, I got mad at him, and then he wanted to play Halo, I didn’t want to, but I’m evil at times, so I played with him, and immediately started shooting him. It was the best revenge EVER.

    πŸ™‚

    Hows the Cedarville situation> I’ve been praying for you.

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  June 29, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Haha πŸ™‚ sweet! Even if someone was being nice to me and I got mad at them I think that I would still die like 50 times every minute πŸ˜‰

    The Cedarville situation is unchanged at the moment. I still would like more prayer regarding it. Hopefully I will receive the funding I need to go there in the fall. πŸ™‚ I’m way stoked about it, so I hope this really is God’s will for me to go there! Thanks Jessi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


