Majorly Stressin!

June 23, 2008 at 10:58 pm 6 comments

Could I please get y’all to pray for me? I’ve been way stressed out about school lately! Currently, I am planning to go to Cedarville University in the fall and major in Early Childhood Education. I also plan on playing softball while I’m there. I’ve been having some trouble figuring out how this all is going to work and my faith is not what it should be. As of right now, without any loans, I will owe CU about $25,000. I do not have $25,000. As a child I was never taught to save my money, so right now I’ve only got a little over $450 in the bank, which most of will probably go towards buying catcher’s gear. My mom has never been a saver either, and as such she has no funding to provide towards my college education. In fact, my mom actually has had some credit issues in the past which would prevent her from cosigning on a loan with me. So here I am… no job, no money, seemingly no way to get loans except possibly those with some ridiculous interest rate. Not to mention there seems to be no shortage of Elementary school teachers. *deep breath* Could it be that everything that was seemingly leading me to Cedarville was just coincidence?

Aside from the financial difficulties, I’ve also felt some promptings toward missionary work. Go figure! So on one hand I have the very expensive school where I would play softball and get to be surrounded by godly young men and women. On that same hand I have the chance meeting of the softball team while on Spring training in Florida, and the chance discussion with the coach’s daughter who was reading the same passage of Isaiah as I was and mentioned that they might need catchers for the upcoming year, and the chance meeting of their coach who told me to e-mail him without even having seen me play. On the other hand I have the great commission, possibly 2 years at New Tribes Ministry with significantly less financing, living with men and women of faith, and all the messages I’ve been hearing recently about faith and surrender.

Lord, where is surrender? Lord, where is faith? Am I believing You for financing for Cedarville? Certainly, if that’s your will, it will be done. The whole world is yours; $25,000 isn’t a grain of sand compared to all you are and all you have. Am I surrendering softball and everything that seemed to lead me to Cedarville to live a life of servitude in another country? Will I be blessed with the fire of your Holy Spirit and demonstrate your great love to those who have yet to learn your Name? In what manner am I to serve you? Lord, remove my doubt and lead me on in triumphal procession! Show me how I am to serve you! Lord, if that is you, tell me to come! It may not be the best night for water-walking, but who can resist your will? With you, the impossible is done.

Please pray for me! May God bless you now and always!

—-edit—-

And this was less stressful and more fun:


🙂 Photo-editing makes me happy… and completely unrelated, but for some reason I’m craving dill chips. Weird.. I don’t think that’s ever happened before.

Entry filed under: God, prayer, school, softball. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Here’s a fun thing Good or Bad?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nathanael  |  June 24, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Prayin’ sister.
    I wish I had better counsel for you.
    But just keep seeking His face, and trust that He will make your next step (not necessarily steps) known.

    Shalom

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  June 24, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Just letting you know that I’m praying for you.. I’m on staff at CU, and part of my job is to get to know students and connect with them. I’m pretty blessed to have such a cool job, actually!

    Anyway, I wanted to let you know that God won’t lead you anywhere for no purpose.. only for His purpose. If you feel like He is calling you to education, then trust that He will use that.

    There are people here who are already excited about freshmen who are coming in the fall (I’m included!) and are praying for you as you try to find the resources to come. Please let me know if there is any way I can help you.. you can e-mail me now or when you’re on campus, or call my office at 937-766-7858. If you want someone to pray with or just need a cup of coffee, let me know. Have a great rest of the summer!

    Reply
  • 3. BDO  |  June 24, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Keep seeking His Will! He will make it clear!

    I too was trying to finance school. I was attending Oklahoma Baptist University to eventually become a preacher. That is a “perfect” goal right?! Well, God wasn’t providing the funds to make that goal a reality. In the end, God had a round about way of getting me an education that did not include going to the school I wanted to go to. He led me to an education in a different field, but I think it is what God wanted for my life. I know I could have been stubborn and tried to force my way to do what I wanted. But I had some wise counsel to just seek him and He lead me down a different road.

    Though I don’t encourage debt at all! Getting into debt for something that will go up in value can be done like education. Just make sure you have a solid plan of repayment. New employees don’t make as much as one might want.

    It is a tough road ahead, no joking! Just take your time. It took me awhile before I earned my degree as well.

    God Bless!

    http://www.beatingdebt.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 4. Lofter  |  June 24, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Like others here, I’m not a fan of debt, but some things, like a good education, are worth the interest rate! Something to consider…
    Never underestimate God. If it’s His will for you to go to CU, then you’ll be going. He’ll make the way for you, but you’ll have to take the steps yourself.
    Then again, if He’s leading you to the mission field, then you should go, for there is truly blessings for you there also.
    Don’t you just hate it when God makes us choose! Know you’re in my prayers, Sis… no matter what, you’ll be where you’re supposed to be, because God is still in control! So get yourself some dill chips and put that smile back on that face! Life is good! 😀

    Reply
  • 5. anon4him  |  June 25, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Thank you for all your support and prayer! I greatly appreciate all of it!

    Reply
  • 6. annie  |  June 25, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    These decisions can be tough. Just know that whatever road you take, God will provide for you, work through you, and be glorified.
    Praying for you,
    Annie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


