When I Listen and Obey

June 16, 2008 at 8:22 pm Leave a comment

Often when I hear gentle whispers of the Holy Spirit they go unheeded, usually because I’m having a pity party and would rather sulk than fix the problem. Last night, when my mind wanted to go into self-pity mode, I refused and instead sought after God and the power that is in His name. While proclaiming the power of Christ over myself to resist the lies of the devil, I found the references for the word “Name” in the concordance of my Bible. Here are a few of the passages of scripture I found in Psalms during my search:

Psalms 9:9-10
“The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.”

Psalms 20:6-8
“Now I know that the Lord saves his anointed; he answers him from his holy heaven with the saving power of his right hand. Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God. The are brought to their knees and fall, but we rise up and stand firm.”

Psalms 34
“I will extol the Lord at all times; his praise will always be on my lips. My soul will boast in the Lord; let the afflicted hear and rejoice. Glorify the Lord with me; let us exalt his name together. I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame. This poor man called, and the Lord heard him; he saved him out of all his troubles. The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them. Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him. Fear the Lord, you his saints, for those who fear him lack nothing. The lions may grow weak and hungry, but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing. Come, my children, listen to me; I will teach you the fear of the Lord. Whoever of you loves life and desires to see many good days, keep your tongue from evil and your lips from speaking lies. Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it. The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their cry; the face of the Lord is against those who do evil, to cut off the memory of them from the earth. The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles. The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. A righteous man may have many troubles, but the Lord delivers him from them all; he protects all his bones, not one of them will be broken. Evil will slay the wicked; the foes of the righteous will be condemned. The Lord redeems his servants; no one will be condemned who takes refuge in him.”

My put in bold the parts of the scriptures that really spoke to me. I feel that God was showing me those verses to encourage me in seeking him. He was showing me that He really is listening to me; that when I listen and obey I’m not just reading, I’m being instructed and encouraged by my almighty creator!

I sought God, and he said that he’ll never forsake me.

I trusted in His Name, and he said I will rise up and stand firm.

I sought the Lord and he answered me and delivered me from my fears.

I sought the Lord he said I will lack no good thing.

I was brokenhearted and he was close to me.

I was crushed in spirit and he saved me.

God knows that I’m seeking Him and he’s rewarding me for it more than I could ever deserve. I hope that next time Satan tries to bring me down I’ll have the faith to stand and say, “Your power over me was lost when Christ died to set me free! I’m a child of the King and he will never leave me nor forsake me. Praise God!”… and then of course I’ll have to start singing Romans 16:19!!! šŸ™‚

Entry filed under: God, life, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Prayer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


