Life and a poem

April 21, 2008 at 10:31 am 1 comment

So, my birthday was on Saturday, and actually it was hugely disappointing from noon until 7. Before hand I was doing well as my mommy bought me chocolate and a tiara (cause I’m her princess). Then I went to softball, and as life would have it, my birthday was forgotten about by my coaches and we lost 2 of 3 games. Not gonna lie, I cried. I don’t know why we put so much emphasis on birthdays, and I know that it shouldn’t have mattered to me, but it did. It was upsetting. Anyway, after that I was at a baby shower for my sister for a couple hours which wasn’t too bad, albeit fairly boring. I did get to hold a few beautiful children though, and that’s always fun. Afterwards my family and my friend Lauren all traveled up to St. Johns to eat some delicious food. And it was delicious and fun. And Lisa gave me a birthday plate ^_^ I love my friends! They rock my socks! Then I hung out with Lauren till midnight when she went home… and I quite possibly cried some more because the person I consider my closest friend didn’t call or message me to tell my happy birthday. Oh, also, I slid during one of the games and tore my leg open, so it was oozing all night… and is still oozing now.

Yesterday was much better- by far! In fact, yesterday was so good I’m thinking about celebrating my birthday on April 20th from now on. We had a couple more games yesterday, and since my softball team felt bad about my coach forgetting my birthday the day before they got me some bubbles, a really soft blanket, and they all signed a softball for me and sang happy birthday on the bus 🙂 I love my team. They rock my socks. Then we picked up a couple wins against Muskegon, though the first one was kinda ugly. The second game we did much better and won 13 to 1. Then the team sang to me again after the second game. Then we ate at Ponderosa and the team sang to me again and I got a cake and a birthday card 🙂 It made me feel really special… and stupid for crying the night before. Then when I got home and checked Facebook, I saw that my good friend that hadn’t called me the night before left me a message. And that made me super happy as well. And so, other than my leg oozing ever since I got my birthday raspberrry, yesterday was amazing! Also, I didn’t have sliding shorts, so I was wearing a girdle to help hold the bandage in place on my leg. The girls thought that was funny because they’re lacy. Here are some fun quotes from yesterday:

Z- “My grandpa is so cute”
Me-“Is he available?” … this one resulted on my team saying I said something dirty… which it wasn’t… it was an honest question.

T- “Holly, are those your birthday sliders? They’re all lacy…”

And here’s the poem

One Last Time

The time has come
As my eyes are opened
To see that your friendship is fake

And here I sit
Missing the joy we had
When yes meant yes and no meant no

If you have not
but disdain for me
Why did you open up the door

I don’t want lies
I abhor deceit
So perhaps this is one last time

One last time to say goodbye
One last time for me to cry
One last time of letting go
One last time to end the show

It’s far too hard
To feign lovedness
When I can see through all your games

If you can’t live
Evidence of God
Then this needs to be one last time

One last time to say goodbye
One last time for me to cry
One last time of letting go
One last time to end the show

Entry filed under: life, poetry, softball. Tags: , , , , , , .

Fantabulous Friday Positive Post Tuesday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Wordpress - I love you « Anon4him  |  July 31, 2008 at 12:48 am

    […] “One last time to say goodbye One last time for me to cry One last time of letting go One last time to end the show” —> One Last Time […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


