Words of God

March 10, 2008 at 7:51 pm 5 comments

This is what God had for me last night… afternoon… whatever

Isaiah 40:29-31

“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary , and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew thier strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Isaiah 42:16

“I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are things I will do; I will not forsake them.”

I feel like Isaiah was talking about me here, even though he was talking about Israel. I think I’ve been blind these last several years, and I’ve been taking the same paths and not getting anywhere benefitial. But now, God is leading me along those unfamiliar paths that are taking me straight to Him. He’s not going to let me stumble. If I hold onto his hand, there’s nothing that can make me fall.

There’s also a bumper sticker on facebook that says this: “A woman’s heart should be so lost in God that a man needs to seek Him in order to find her.” I think I need to follow this path. If I’m obsessing over a young man, I’m never going to have the relationship that God wants for me. Instead I’ve got to invest myself completely in God, and then, if God has someone for me, he’ll find me when the time is right. I love God. Why have I wasted so much time throwing my affection elsewhere? Anyway, God has blessed me with a few amazing friends through this rough patch of my life, and I’m thankful for all of them. And for the record, Charlie (even though you don’t read my blog), God has used you so much to encourage me and to grow me in Him, and I want to thank you. Thank you for letting God use you. I certainly don’t look forward to the day when circumstances lead us away from one another, but it’ll be ok, because we’ll meet again in heaven. I love you, Charlie. 🙂 I hope we’ll always be good friends.

Entry filed under: God, life, prayer.

Unhappy Yesterday, The Afters, and Evidence That Demands A Verdict WOah-OH!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I’ve felt the same way for the last 8 years – fumbling, knowing He was leading me but wondering why it had to be so convoluted and winding. I found my answer in what Anne Lamott says in her book Traveling Mercies – that sometimes God distracts us so that his plan can come to full fruition without our meddling (paraphrasing), and I’m coming to see that all the stumbling was for a reason, to help me grow, strength and be reassured that despite the bumps and bruises that He is what I must cling to, not a dream, not a future husband – who may or may not be out there, and all that – it will come in His time with His plan. These years of fumbling were necessary reminder every time I complain now, a kick to say, It was worth it wasn’t it? Now get your act together and your eyes back on Him… But maybe that’s just how I see it…

    Reply
  • 2. Lofter  |  March 11, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Such wisdom and insight… God is using you to give hope to others who, without such an example, would simply give up. May He continue to bless you as you bless those around you – near and far away – and glorify His name. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. anon4him  |  March 11, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Jenn- Thanks for your insight and order 😉 I’m certainly trying to have Him be the focus of my life right now. Recently it’s been hard to justify playing softball when I don’t know what it will be doing for His kingdom… but hopefully I will be an example to my teammates of how to live.

    Lofter- I hope you’re right 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. LeahA  |  March 13, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    another great thing to do it so lose yourself in God without hoping that that will result in him finding you a mate!

    Reply
  • 5. anon4him  |  March 13, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I certainly agree, Leah. And ya know, what? I think once I successfully lose myself in Him, finding a husband won’t seem important at all anyway. That’s why I love that saying! Because it’s not saying she should lose herself in God to find ‘him’, it’s saying that she should be lost in God, period. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


