By Accident

February 6, 2008 at 11:14 am 2 comments

So, yesterday I was a bit distracted by thoughts of a certain person as they kept bouncing around my mind. He’s been on my mind a lot, but not from a conscious decision. Dreams don’t always allow you to think about what is good for you. Sometimes what you want is a reality in them and then you wake up to taste the cold truth of the situation. Anyway, when thoughts would creep into my mind during the waking hours, I would start to sing “you are my strength when I am weak, you are the treasure that I seek, you are my all in all.” I did this for 2 reasons– one, because it helped me think of something else and 2, because it’s absolutely true. When my mind wanders to thoughts about this person, it reveals my weakness, but God can still shine through that weakness. It helped show me that yeah, I made a mistake by becoming so emotionally attached to this person, but that doesn’t mean I need someone to “cure” my loneliness. All my life, I’ve wanted to meet the man of my dreams and he would be the only one I dated and married. I thought I had found that man, but as I’m single once again, it would appear that such is not the case. Part of me wanted to think, well, maybe dating a bunch of people would be ok as long as I don’t get too emotionally involved too quickly. Honestly though, I don’t want to even begin to be with a man other than the one I will marry. Sure, dating might be fun and I could have some laughs, but dating someone who I have no intention of marrying and has no intention of marrying me would end up hurting me and the man I do marry in the long run. So, I can’t have my childhood dream because I made a mistake–that doesn’t mean I have to make it worse. Perhaps I need to give “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” a shot.

Well, I did stray quite far from what I actually wanted to talk about, which was the song “You are my All in All.” I searched for this song on Youtube, and oddly enough I found it. I listened to a woman sing it, but as I prefer the sound of male voices, I clicked on one of the related videos– “All In All” by Lifehouse — I thought that this was just them singing the same song. I was wrong. But as it turns out, it’s a pretty good song, and I like it a lot. So, here it is:

Standin on top of the edge it feels like its going down
Everything stays and my minds feelin in a daze on the ground

Feels like it’s gonna give life’s too hard to live anymore
I think I’ve had enough things too tough
I’m out the door

All in all it’s just another day now
You’re falling down
What you gonna do
Standing on top of the world tonight
No ones looking back at you

Stand tall
It’s going on
It’s going on
It’s gonna be just fine
You’re holding on
Holding on today

Things don’t stop and the others announced they’re moving on
Salt & tears in the minds in the mouths of a bad decision
Too late for another mistake it’s bringing me down
With all your faults it isn’t your fault
What’s going on

All in all it’s just another day now
You’re falling down
What you gonna do
Standing on top of the world tonight
No ones looking back at you

Stand tall
It’s going on
It’s going on
It’s gonna be just fine
You’re holding on
Holding on today

So you lost yourself
So you lost your way
Found life through someone else
But you threw it all away

All in all it’s just another day now
You’re falling down
What you gonna do
Standing on top of the world tonight
No ones looking back at you

Stand tall
It’s going on
It’s going on
It’s gonna be just fine
You’re holding on
Holding on today

Times rolling on
Rolling on today
It’s going on
Going on today

Entry filed under: life, songs.

Unexplainable Holy Amazing Awesome!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LeahA  |  February 6, 2008 at 11:36 am

    I like that idea of singing the song… I feel like my mind has been all over the place lately but probably not where it should be…

    Dating is tricky 😛

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  February 6, 2008 at 11:40 am

    i would certainly agree

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Most Recent Posts


