Your Name

February 3, 2008 at 1:15 am 4 comments

Oh to think without this night
The sun would shine a dazzling light
Had not my joy been put away today

The words I spoke
The boundaries broke
Cause pain to sieze
And warm blood soak
Into the ground
That swears to swallow whole

But oh, it’s not the end
Soon the Light will come

Come like the morning
Take me home
Tear off this sin
And bitter cold
Breathe life into these lungs
That threaten death
Come in your glory
Raise the dead
Wipe all these tears
And kiss my head
Breathe strength into this heart
That bears your name
It bears your name

Here we have a loving king
Who joy and peace and truth will bring
Into the lives of all who claim his name

The words he spoke
The chains he broke
Cause us to bear
The lighter yoke
Of Jesus Christ
The Savior of our souls

And oh, it’s not the end
And soon his Light will come

Come like the morning
Take me home
Tear off this sin
And bitter cold
Breathe life into these lungs
That threaten death
Come in your glory
Raise the dead
Wipe all these tears
And kiss my head
Breathe strength into this heart
That bears your name
Breathe courage to my mouth
To spread your fame
Breathe wisdom to my mind
To know your aim
Breathe strength into this heart
That bears your name

Entry filed under: poetry, songs.

I Feel Boring Do You Know

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keith Porterfield  |  February 3, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    I really like this. So, I guess you broke out of the writer’s block, huh?

    Later,

    Porterfield

    p.s.- Send a friend request to the Texarkana Poet Society on MySPace. I think you would enjoy the weekly challenges.

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  February 3, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Yep… took a while though. I had maybe one other poem before this during the block, but it was something I couldn’t post on here.

    I probably will send the friend request… It just seems so wrong sincec I live no where near Texarkana 😛

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Porter  |  February 4, 2008 at 7:34 am

    “Here we have a loving king
    Who joy and peace and truth will bring
    Into the lives of all who claim his name”

    powerful words. very nice poem.

    Reply
  • 4. anon4him  |  February 4, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Thank you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Most Recent Posts


