Sometimes Stuff Happens

January 21, 2008 at 3:29 pm 7 comments

When I woke up today, I didn’t say, “Gee… I’d like to almost be late for softball,” but it happened.

When I woke up today, I didn’t say, “Gee… I’d like to meet a new recruit from Bellevue,” but it happened.

When I woke up today, I didn’t say, “Gee… I’d like to get hit in the eye with a softball,” but it happened.

eye

Sometimes stuff happens. Sometimes that stuff makes me nervous, like my near tardiness. Sometimes that stuff makes me happy, like meeting a new recruit. Sometimes that stuff makes me cry, laugh and have my eye swell up, like a softball in the eye which ironically happened shortly after talking to the new recruit about how I hit a softball into my eye last year in fall ball. By the way, my eye actually looks worse than that; the flash must have gotten rid of some of the redness and and made it look less swollen. Oh, how great it is to be playing softball again!

Entry filed under: life.

My Mistake The Snow I Love

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ezporter  |  January 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    I played baseball in high school and still play recreationally and i’ve caught a baseball in the face numerous times, it happens. I’ve never, however, hit a baseball into my face while I was batting. Anyway, hope you feel better. =)

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  January 21, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I was fairly impressed that I hit the ball into my face too… it’s gotta be like a one in a million chance. haha… this time the ball just took a bad hop when I was fielding. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. alymc  |  January 21, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    I hit my face on a chair this morning picking up a book (horrible depth perception) .. a bruise is starting to appear. That will be a fun one to explain. lol

    Reply
  • 4. anon4him  |  January 21, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Aly, I always have a terrible time picking stuff up and hitting my head. I think I once hit my head 3 times in one game because I was putting my catcher’s gear on under a shelf for the batting helmets… you’d think I would have learned after the first time!

    I hope your face feels better! 🙂 Good luck explaining… you could come up with some story about getting the bruise while being a diplomatic covert nun who saves the world. What? you say donald miller already came up with that story. Well… it was worth a shot, right?

    Reply
  • 5. Keith Porterfield  |  January 22, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Ouch! Sorry you had to suffer the vengence of the softball. I’ve heard those things can come alive after being smacked around so much. Anyway, I think you’ll make it. Your post here was very coherent and it seems there is no brain damage.

    Later!

    Reply
  • 6. Raquel TWG  |  January 22, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Ah I’ve been hit in the eye so many times, but never with a softball. Um soccer ball [so yeah it was pretty much my whole face, haha], bed headboard, etc. Feel better! And talking about having explain injuries to people, I have a scar on my arm that I got from running into a tree. That one’s fun to explain to people (:

    Reply
  • 7. anon4him  |  January 23, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Keith – You only think there’s no brain damage. Usually I’m like a super genius and just reading a post from me would leave you awestruck! Unfortunately I sustained serious brain damage when I woke up for the first time *~.^

    Raquel – I know the soccer ball feeling! One game the other team got an indirect kick on our goal, but it was so close that our coach had us all line up on the goalie box. Of course, the kicker kicked it right into my face! That tree incident does sound like a fun one to explain! How do you run into a tree? lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


