When Words Aren’t Enough

January 17, 2008 at 9:52 pm 4 comments

Will you look into my eyes
When words aren’t enough
Will you hold onto my hand
When words aren’t enough
Will you eat my home-baked cookies
Will you listen to my heart beat
When words aren’t enough
Will I be enough

Will we share a cup of coffee
When words aren’t enough
Will we walk around the campus
When words aren’t enough
Will you tease me about my appearance
Will you poke me in the side
When words aren’t enough
Will I be enough

When I say the things I say
It’s not because I’m lost
And when I don’t say that I love you
It’s because it’s too high a cost

But when my words aren’t enough
Just know that I still care
And when my words aren’t enough
You can still play with my hair
And when my words aren’t enough
Don’t give up pursuit
And when my words aren’t enough
Let my faith be enough for you

Entry filed under: poetry.

Lord Is That You Close The Ocean – A New Honour

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keith Porterfield  |  January 19, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    I think you will be enough. You are, even if said person doesn’t see it…get it?

    When I was in college and looking for the perfect girlfriend, my friend Steven (previously mentioned) told me his ideas about how that whole thing works.

    Here it is, maybe it’ll help you:

    You’ve got to quit looking at anyone as a potential mate. Look at everyone as either a brother or sister in Christ or a potential brother or sister in Christ. Now, to be correct in Christianity, you should not date, with intention to become exclusive, anyone that is not a Christian.

    That said, figure out what you are to do with your life. If that is completing college right now, then do that. Start running. Don’t quit running. When you figure out what you are to do next…run that way. Don’t stop, keep running. One day, while you are still running…you will look over to your side and someone will be keeping pace. That person just might be there for a reason.

    Hope that made sense.

    Later,

    Porterfield

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  January 20, 2008 at 11:50 am

    This poem wasn’t written for anyone specific. The words “when words aren’t enough” just popped into my head when I was thinking about the phase “a picture paints a thousand words” and I thought it’d be good for a song.

    Like I said, it wasn’t written to anyone specific, but I guess it could be to whoever decides that I’m worth their time. I gave far too much of my heart away in my last relationship, and I don’t want that to happen again. The words, “I love you” can do some pretty powerful things to a person, which is why I’ve decided that I’m not going to be saying them until I’m engaged. That is what I mean by “when words aren’t enough,” because when I can’t tell him I love him, I want it to mean enough to him that I want to spend time with him. I can’t remember if it’s C.S. Lewis or Elizabeth Elliot that said something like a man shouldn’t tell a girl he loves her unless he’s prepared to back it up with a proposal, and he shouldn’t propose without saying I love you. Hopefully I will stick to my resolution.

    I do agree with your friend. I do need to stop looking for a husband and just start focusing on living my life for God. I’ve been trying, but I’m not there yet. Looking at everyone as a brother or sister is a good idea, I should put it into practice.

    Perhaps my worst downfall right now is fear that no one will ever want to marry me. That fear makes me aware of anyone who might possibly be interested in me. I guess I don’t always trust God to provide me with a man who will truly love me. And right now I’m realizing how much work I need God to do on me before I’m ready for such a man.

    step 1: trust God
    step 2: God has no given me a spirit of fear
    step 3: chocolate
    step 4: run
    step 5: trust God

    Thanks Keith ^_^

    Reply
  • 3. Keith Porterfield  |  January 20, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Chocolate…I’m laughing at that. You make me smile.

    Reply
  • 4. anon4him  |  January 20, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    oh good 🙂 I wouldn’t want to make you frown ^_^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


