Wrist Hickey

January 11, 2008 at 7:31 pm 4 comments

So, today was my second day of practice, and I did leaps and bounds better than yesterday! I fielded the majority of grounders cleanly, only missing a few out of all the ones I took. I also was hitting the ball! w00t! I got my timing back and had some crushing hits. I’m nowhere near as good as I was last year, but compared to yesterday I’m a softball genius. It didn’t take long for me to get some battle scars either. I secured myself a few blisters on my hands due to lack of batting gloves, and I also got a wrist hickey. I suppose it’s not really a hickey since hickey’s are caused by suction. Instead, it is a bruise. So, the whole team was lined up, taking grounders off the pitching machine, and I was something like third in line. A ball took a wicked hop and nailed the back of my wrist before I had a chance to react. It didn’t really hurt at all, it just felt kinda tight. Anyways, it left a nice quarter-size bruise on my wrist with a couple small circles in it from the dimples in the ball. I’m glad I didn’t have to take the pain to get the bruise.

 I also decided that I have an easier time dealing with myself when I’m not focused on myself. I’m very emotionally unstable, and tend to seek out attention for myself, but when I’m playing softball, I’m focused on something other than me. It’s very helpful. It’s hard to be depressed when you’ve got a softball coming at your face at some ridiculous speed. So, softball provided an escape for me this afternoon… I only wish I could be playing softball all the time. Sadly, the weekend is upon me… that means much more unoccupied time with which I can royally mess myself up. Hopefully it won’t work that way though. Hopefully I will read my bible, and pray, and glorify God with all that I do this weekend– which I hope is a lot. 🙂

God bless and keep all of you!

Entry filed under: life, Uncategorized.

Today The Sunlight

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alymc  |  January 11, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    You should get a good book to read…
    I just started “Don’t Waste Your Life” by John Piper… but would already recommend it. I would probably recommend all Piper books… there’s another one on my list .. “What Jesus Demands From the World” .. sounds like a great read …
    or listen to some Francis Chan sermons..
    Those things help me spend my time well.:)

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  January 11, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    I’ve already read “Don’t Waste Your Life”… it was good, but it didn’t help me much. Mere Christianity helped me quite a bit, but such inspiration only lasts so long. Plus, I don’t like reading. *shrugs* I think I’m missing a good church community. In high school I was pretty much in church/at church events half the week. Now I’m lucky if I get to go twice a week. I really need a purpose… I need direction in how I’m to glorify God. I’ve always wanted to glorify Him by being a loving wife and mother, but that’s not his plan for me. While I hope it one day will be, I’m not sure what to do in the meantime.

    Thank you muchly for your suggestions though.

    Reply
  • 3. Keith Porterfield  |  January 12, 2008 at 1:51 am

    I think you should pray for Spirit Eyes and Spirit Ears. (That means whatever you choose to do…you ask the Holy Spirit to protect your eyes and ears. Filtering the bad out and letting the blessings in while making you aware of other people’s needs)A friend of mine named Steven used to pray that prayer for us when we went out on a social event. He was a seminary student and you would be amazed at how that prayer affected our group. We would find opportunities to show God’s love or witness or what have you…basically show people how much fun it could be as a Christian.

    My personal forte’ was Prayer Poems. I still do it. When the opportunity arrives, I recite a poem that I have written to God…if I feel led to do so.

    Not perfect, just persistent.

    Later,

    Porterfield

    p.s. – I’ve got audio on my blog now!!!

    Reply
  • 4. anon4him  |  January 12, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    That sounds like a good idea. I don’t memorize my poems very often, I just write them and post them. Sadly I may have more love-related poems than praise poems, even if some of them mention God. I’ll be sure to check out the audio. Thanks ^_^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


