Because This Is the First Thing You’ll Read

January 8, 2008 at 2:49 am 3 comments

I’m writing a new post simply because I need to stop being a sap, and I don’t want whoever reads this to know just how much of a sap I am. So, you may wonder what there is to talk about at 2:22 a.m. I might wonder that as well. So, I suppose I will give the reason for me being up and online so late (though I know 2 o’clock is just a drop in the bucket of lateness for some). For the last couple hours I have been enrolling in classes that start a week from yesterday. I had previously enrolled in classes before I found out that I’m playing softball for my college this season and they conflicted with my softball schedule. I tried enrolling ealier, however, the school’s server is so busy with last minute enrollments during normal hours that I was unable to get anything done. I got back online around maybe 11:30ish last night thinking that the server probably wouldn’t be too busy, and I was right. I was able to get on the school’s website and navigate through pretty easily. Unfortunately, when I was less than halfway through the process of reenrolling, my internet connection is lost due to bad weather. The bad weather lasted a while, and gee I’m really boring here.

Anyway, I’m enrolled in classes now, so w00t!

On another topic. I quite enjoy the book of James. It’s a good read and has good application to life. I encourage everyone to read it! Here’s a passage from James 3 (the chapter I’m studying tonight).  These are verses 13 through 16:

“Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom. But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth. Such ‘wisdom’ does not come down from heaven, but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil. For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.”

This verse actually makes me think of the famous love passage in 1 Corinthians 13. Love does not envy and is not self-seeking. Therefore, if you are unwise by having envy and selfish ambition, you are also unloving. I fear I fail in love because I fail in wisdom. Luckily for me, God has a cure for lack of wisdom–Himself. James 1:5 says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.” So, as I pray for wisdom, believing God that I receive it, I am made to love and thus fulfill God’s command. Hurray!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So Scared Today

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alymc  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    I love how if we are lacking .. we should just ask God. I feel looking through the “love chapter” in 1 Cor. that I do not love God.. like I should. I do not love Him how I wish to love Him. So what do I do? … What Paul does in Eph 3. Pray to God to open our eyes to see Him and that we may then be filled with the fullness of God. God is way awesome.

    Reply
  • 2. Keith Porterfield  |  January 9, 2008 at 1:30 am

    So what exactly is a sap? Forgive me for being a glutton for diction…

    Slang. A person who is easily deceived or victimized: butt3, dupe, fool, gull, lamb, pushover, victim. Informal : sucker. Slang : fall guy, gudgeon, mark, monkey, patsy, pigeon. Chiefly British : mug. See WISE.

    Whatever, there is no way you can be all of those things. That is the exact definition of SAP.

    I do like that you like James. I’m not kidding, I told my boss today at work that I like James. He was talking to me about the book of Romans, I think 11. You know the Faith chapter.

    Anyways, I’m glad we are blog friends. You think, therefore you are…not a sap:)

    p.s.- You want wisdom? Check out a quote I created:

    Wisdom is the space between…Whiz and Dumb.

    Later,

    Porterfield

    Reply
  • 3. anon4him  |  January 9, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Aly – yeah… God is a great provider… we just need to ask Him. 🙂 I agree that God is way awesome ^_^

    Keith- you make me laugh 🙂 Thanks. Though I may not be all of the definition of a sap, I believe I fit at least part of the definition. I do love James, but I also love Romans. Romans really came alive to me the first time I read it in one night. When you read it all together, rather than picking apart all the wonderful memory verses in it, you can see just how much Paul loved the people. You can tell that it’s an actual letter and not just some good advice to just anyone. Anyways, I’m glad we’re blog friends too ^_^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


