What Is So Hard to Understand?

January 3, 2008 at 11:43 pm Leave a comment

” 9I have written you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people— 10not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world. 11But now I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat.

 12What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? 13God will judge those outside. “Expel the wicked man from among you.”

~1 Corinthians 5:9-12

I have certain people in my life who call themselves Christians. They profess Christ’s death over their lives, yet they are sexually immoral. They know what they are doing is sinful, and yet they continue to do it because “You don’t know what I’ve been through.” True, but I’ve read about what Christ went through. He lived a perfect, sinless life, and then humbled himself–the Lord of all creation–to death on a cross. He was beaten and mocked, and though he was so mistreated, he remained holy. Now we, as humans mess up. We sin. But Christ calls us from our sins to live holy and blameless lives. Paul tells us to expel the wicked brother from among us. Yet, I am ridiculed and called judgemental by my very own family because I’ve decided not to be a bridesmaid in my sisters wedding due to her continuance in her sexual immorality. I love my sister. I want her not to sin. I want those who hear she’s a christian see her living a life worthy of her calling. Is it love to pretend like it’s ok for her to keep sinning? Is it love to be in her wedding despite her unrepentance? Is it love to let the world see her immorality and think that those are acceptable actions for a Christian to have? I say no. I love my sister and I love my Lord and I love those people who would come to Christ had it not been for the disgrace that many bring on His name. Is it so hard for people to accept that even though God’s love is endless, he’s more concerned with his holiness than our happiness?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Whatever Girly-girl

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


