More Than These

October 10, 2007 at 10:02 am 5 comments

Praying for some guidance
Praying for release
He held up all my hobbies
And asked, “Do you love me more than these?”

Sure, I’ve got some indulgences
Some movies are uncouth
But of course I love you more than these
And that’s the honest truth

Praying for some guidance
Praying for release
He held up my unsaved friends
And asked, “Do you love me more than these?”

So maybe they still live in sin
And their crudeness can’t be denied
But still I love you more than these
You know I wouldn’t lie

Praying for some guidance
Praying for release
He lifted up my family
And asked, “Do you love me more than these?”

But God, these are my brothers
My sisters and my parents
But I guess I love you more than these
As long as it’s convenient

Praying for some guidance
Praying for release
God held up a mirror
And asked, “Do you love more more than these?”

Inside I saw my soul
All my hopes and goals and dreams
But God THESE are what I LOVE
Would you take them away from me?

“What I love” — the words resounded
And my tears began to flood
I reduced God to a past-time
After He cleansed me with His blood

Forgive me for my idolatry
For putting you out of place
I realize I have this life
Only by your grace

Praying for your guidance
Waiting for your call
Please keep asking if I love you
Because I love you most of all

Anon

“If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters–yes, even his own life–he cannot be my disciple.” -Luke 14:26

Entry filed under: poetry, Uncategorized.

Life Chain This is why I love NY

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Raah  |  October 10, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    thnkx anon…
    it’s inspiring..

    Reply
  • 2. Raquel TWG  |  October 16, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Ah I love this!

    Reply
  • 3. anon4him  |  October 16, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Thank you ^_^ It’s probably the best thing I’ve written in quite a while… usually the stuff inspired by life tends to be that way.

    Reply
  • 4. kimmyb  |  October 17, 2007 at 2:46 am

    Very nicely written!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. anon4him  |  October 17, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


