Pride is MY issue

September 26, 2007 at 10:44 pm 1 comment

I am a very proud individual. I never realized this until reading chapter 8 of Mere Christianity. I took it as jealousy, but down deep, it really is pride. I compare myself to other women in the areas of looks, intelligence, friends, etc. And usually I see myself at the short end of the stick. I feel that some else is better than me because she’s beautiful, everyone likes her, and/or the man in her life would do anything for her. Usually it’s my prerogative to be disappointed in myself because I’m less than them or wonder what it is that makes them so much better than me. The reason I notice these things and react the way I do is because of pride. I do think I’m kinda pretty, but not as pretty as some. I do think I have great friends, but some girls have more. It seems like everything goes right for some girls and I think it should go that way for me because, get this, I THINK I DESERVE IT! I couldn’t be further from the truth! I deserve Hell because I’m a sinner, but by the grace of God, I get heaven! In the words of the Newsboys, “When we don’t get what we deserve, it’s a real good thing… when we get what we don’t deserve, it’s a real good thing…”

I feel like I have many great attributes, but the sooner I realize that no good characteristic comes from me, that is that it is God’s, the sooner I’ll be able to humble myself to the point where I’m no longer jealous, I’m no longer envious, and I’m no longer prideful, because “I” am no longer. There only is God.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Not the usual poem Life Chain

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bhuge  |  October 10, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Anon,
    I also struggle with Pride, the original sin. Yes, everything comes from God and even our character is formed from Him so that He receives all the glory. Keep in mind though that He loves “you”. He created you uniquely to be His daughter, His bride, and He died for you. You are of great worth in His eyes and He delights in you, Zeph. 3:17. Bask in the great love He has lavished upon you today.

    Because He first loved us,
    1 John 4:19

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


