Still Haven’t Found What I’m “Looking For”

August 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm 2 comments

“And she’s looking for a husband” – Caedmon

“I’m not really looking per se” – Me

“Yes you are!” – Caedmon

There were probably other things said in the midst of it, but I couldn’t hear it over the intense, loud shade of red that my face was turning. Some six year old children do not know proper dinner conversation etiquette. Although the outburst was incredibly hilarious, and only partially true, it was quite thought-provoking. It was partially true because, yeah, I do want to get married. I don’t hide the fact that my desire in life is to be a wife and mother. However, “looking for” implies actively searching, which I’m not… I think. In fact, I’ve been quite good about not initiating conversations with guys lately.  In conversations where my nephew is involved, the idea of me getting married is brought up more by him than by me. He pretty much thinks that I should get married because I’m old and I should marry someone in New York that way he can come visit and play. lol. Those are solid reasons to get married, right? Well, it doesn’t matter the reasons why he says the things he says. The fact is, that I probably concern myself with the desire for a husband more than I should. Proverbs 4:25 says “Let thine eyes look right on, and let thine eyelids look straight before thee” (it’s a King James sort of day). If my eyes are fixed on Jesus, then it would be much more difficult for someone to confuse where I am looking or what I am looking for… even a 6 year old, I think, would see clearly where my gaze was set. Lord, let my eyes be set on You, and You alone.

Entry filed under: life. Tags: .

Bring Me Back

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. donqvijote  |  August 20, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Very true. It seems like it’s always a struggle to keep eyes on the prize. But then there are those moments where the big guy upstairs dumps peace all on and around ya, and says “just take it a step at a time, it’ll all be fine” with a big smile, and then everything is really fine.

    Keep your head up,
    David

    Reply
  • 2. anon4him  |  August 20, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks, David.
    :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

